Travel Corridors

You may not have to self-isolate when you arrive in England, if you are travelling from one of the countries or territories listed below. That is because these countries or territories are:

  • covered by the travel corridor exemption
  • within the common travel area (Ireland, the Channel Islands, the Isle of Man)
  • British overseas territories

You will need to self-isolate if you visited or made a transit stop in a country that is not on the list in the 14 days before you arrive in England.

This applies to all travel to England, by train, ferry, coach, air or any other route.


Countries or territories removed from the exempt list

Spain was removed from the exempt list on Sunday 26 July 2020.

If you arrive in England from Spain on or after 26 July you will need to self-isolate.

If you arrived in England from Spain before 26 July you may not need to self-isolate. Read the rules about when you need to self-isolate and for how long.

See attachment below for more details


Countries and territories with no self-isolation requirement on arrival in England

Unless you have visited or made a transit stop in a country or territory not listed below in the preceding 14 days, you don’t need to self–isolate when you arrive in England from the following countries and territories:

This list may be added to following further discussions between the UK and international partners.


Attachment Size
Spain - Travel Corridors 507.67 KB